top of page
  • Writer's pictureMy Tinnitus Life

Taking on New York City

I have returned from my trip to La Big Apple as a broken woman! Tired and jet lagged doesn't quite cover it, but my gosh it was worth it. Going to big noisy cities with tinnitus and hearing aids can make you feel like you've been chewed up and spat out. Find out how I got on in New York for 5 days and whether I would go back...


Yes, yes, I know I have only just started my new job and I've already jetted off on another trip. What can I say, I'm a demanding employee that seeks a ton of enjoyment with minimal input. They're lucky to have me!

Speaking of minimal input, I have my wonderful human friend, Emma, to thank for organising the entire trip from beginning to end, over the course of the last year. Big shout out to that hero! You go girl with your organisational skills! There were five of us sharing the Air B'n'B apartment on Quincy St. in Brooklyn, which looked like it was plucked straight out of 'Sesame Street' (with some dodgy characters thrown in for adventure).


None of us set out to have a relaxing city break, more of a see-how-much-you-can-fit-in-without-dying kind of trip. And boy did we succeed!


Day one: this consisted of a proper tour, with a proper tour guide, on a proper tourist bus with a cool as a cucumber bus driver (Big up Levi!). Here's the link for our wonderful tour guide Marc Kehoe, who could answer any question we threw at him and his subtle dry humour had us laughing all day. Such a top lad!


https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.newyorktourshuttle.com%2Fnyc-tour-guides%2F%3Ffbclid%3DIwAR31uohOAwbayAr3F7stTJr63iaLAdbXu0wjuY_yjh5hJzeaPzCrt6PaNIA&h=AT0v5odSrHfNt6C6JdjnspgM7EYDiD8Dcj7t-mMtUSq2RHbhHS_VjRLthOT6nLBVT58nSfZvt9kEBqz1iowuMOFLNLFt-1RdLTau2XM5rM4l0PbSOLjB6oE9wKw89LPs_AensoI1-5RvumMMPxo


Anyway, we saw the Statue of Liberty from Liberty Island, climbed (in a lift) to the top of the Empire State Building, chatted in Grand Central Station, ate the best Italian food in little Italy (ayyyy pasta!), had an emotional moment at ground zero and drove around learning about millions of different buildings. All in one day. I was knackered, and, of course, thrilled.


Day two: this was our big drinking day. We had pre-planned to have a nice old drunk time in NYC in advance, booking in for a "bottomless brunch" (which you can find all over the city) that consisted of a mouth wateringly good burger and endless supply of prosecco and orange juice for two hours. We really made sure we got our money's worth during this time, as buying alcohol in the city was ridiculously expensive thanks to our weak ass Great British Pound. Thanks Brexit! Anyway we got sloshed, started talking jibberish, taking terrible photos, questionable boomerangs and partied at somebody's wake (don't ask). Success.


Day three: starting the day with a difficult experience in the 9/11 memorial museum which shook us all more than we could have imagined, we decided to have a more chilled out afternoon. We ate, a lot, rode bikes through central park and visited time square once it got dark. When I think back at my mood, I'd say this is where I started to struggle with my tinnitus and sensitive hearing. Noisy crowds and busy atmospheres are not my bag baby!


Day four: the girls abide by their stereotype by going shopping, and the boys theirs by going to see a big ass military boat, meeting then in all gender's favourite place, the pub. We (Emma) had previously booked tickets for us to see an ice hockey match that night between the New York Islanders and the Vancouver Canucks. I have to admit, I am no sports fan, but this night was so much fun. The atmosphere was incredible and the hockey players moved around that rink like majestic swans on Valentines Day! I had a woman behind me with such a strong New York accent, it was as if she had just stepped out of 'Goodfellas'. We all danced in our seats and chanted repeatedly "LET’S GO ISLANDERS!" and clapped our hands red raw. I spent the whole time feeling sorry for the Canucks because no one was cheering for them, even when they scored, leaving me to do a mouse volume "yay" quietly for them, so I didn't get a foam finger chucked at me. This is why I cant watch sports.


Ok, so this is what really f*cked my ears up.


Immediately after leaving the game, I noticed my tinnitus was ringing off the charts. I should have known this would be a problem. Having had it for two and a half years, you'd think I'd be more prepared and aware of what I need to do to prevent this from happening. But since it has been relatively well behaved in the last few weeks, I began to think I could just do whatever I wanted with little to no effect to the volume. What I actually should have done, is take some ear plugs to these abnormally noisy environments, especially if I'm going to scream for hockey teams at the top of my voice with thousands of other people. Duh!


Thanks to my irresponsible personality trait, I now spend the last couple of days with an unbearable ringing in my head, without the option of taking some time out alone to deal with my frustrations. Of course, my poor friends have to deal with my not-so-cheery mood and lack of witty, intellectual conversation they're normally gifted with (seriously, don't laugh).

I do try explain to them in the best way I can that it's due to my tinnitus, but I also don't want to harp on about it all the time. One of the frustrations is just this, telling people so they understand why you're not in a bubbly mood, or that they need to speak clearer today, but of course they will forget and just talk to you in a way they would anyone. Its a frustrating time and no one is at fault, but if we really try to understand how hearing problems actually effect people, maybe things can improve. I really don't want to shout at my mates "shut up or speak up!". It's rude. Apparently.


I've been asked since, whether I'd go back to New York. My answer would be that, as I'm not a city lover in general, I feel like I ticked so many boxes in New York and could probably live the rest of my life without feeling the need to go again. Well.... maybe in the summer. With lots of money so I can get drunk more often!


Now all I have left to do is wash all my smelly luggage and get myself online for some ear plugs...
















295 views0 comments
bottom of page